Florida voters recently approved an amendment to the state constitution allowing for medical marijuana in the state of Florida. This does not mean that marijuana is legal in the state of Florida, and there are still criminal penalties attached with possession, and the consumption of marijuana in Florida.
Yes, there are. Every drug has its own classification and penalty associated with it in the state of Florida. Furthermore, the amount of the drug that you possess can and will affect the penalty you’re facing as well as whether or not you are charged with simple possession, the sale and possible distribution of that drug, or trafficking in that drug. Also, the location of where you are arrested … For instance, within a 1000 feet of a church or a school can greatly enhance the penalty that you’re facing.
Potentially, yes. If the at-fault driver was working and acting in the course and scope of their employment when they caused your accident, you could potentially go after the employer. Also, the owner of the vehicle. If it’s different than the driver, they would also be responsible for what is called “negligent entrustment” of the vehicle to the person that caused the accident. It’s very important that you go over these questions with your personal injury attorney during your initial consultation, so you have all avenues of recovery open to you.
In terms of the venue or the location for where you file your wrongful death suit, it will come down to either where the accident occurred or in a county that the defendant or one of the defendants resides in.
Yes there are. Commercial truck drivers are mandated to have certain periods of rest, cannot drive for too many hours consecutively. There are outlined in Florida regulations, state regulations, as well as federal regulations.
Yes it can. If you are convicted for driving under the influence in the state of Florida, it is mandatory that your license be suspended. If you are convicted of driving under the influence, you will automatically receive a suspension of your driver’s license.
A minor cannot file a lawsuit or a wrongful death claim on their own. What will happen is a guardian will bring the case on their behalf, either appointed through the court or a natural guardian can bring the suit on their behalf.
Absolutely. If you’re a passenger in a vehicle and that driver is negligent, causes an accident and you’re injured, you have a right to make a claim against the owner of that vehicle and also the driver of that vehicle for injuries that you sustain.
Absolutely. If you’re a passenger in a vehicle and that driver acts negligently, causes you to be injured, you are 100 percent able and entitled to make a claim against them, the owner of that vehicle, and the insurance companies that cover those individuals for your injuries.
Yes, absolutely. If you’re operating a boat on the waterways here in Florida to the point that your normal faculties are impaired, you can and will likely be stopped by law enforcement, and potentially charged with boating under the influence.